Blog Bat Around: Cards That I Used To Own

So while visiting The Shlabotnik Report this morning I read his latest post, his response to a Blog Bat Around posted at Garvey Cey Russell Lopes on June 26th. First I should explain what a Blog Bat Around is, don’t worry I just learned also! Basically a blogger poses a question on his/her blog and answers it. Than other bloggers do the same thing on their blog. GCRL asked this question –

What cards have you owned that you regret are no longer in your collection?

177_nolan_ryan_jerry_koosman_1My card would be a 1968 Topps Jerry Koosman/Nolan Ryan RC like the one pictured to the left. I got the card from a friend and after exchanging texts with him tonight we are guessing it was in 1989 or 1990. So what did I have to give up to get this gem? A Nintendo Entertainment System! I don’t remember how much the card was worth at the time? I held onto the card for a while and can remember the card increasing in value before I decided to sell it to a local card shop. At the time I sold it (1991), it was valued at around $1,400 and I got $1,000 for it. I can still recall the feeling of 10 $100 dollar bills in my pocket which at the age of 17 was a lot of money! I used the money to install a pretty nice stereo system in my car. Looking at current prices for this card I could get a couple of them for the amount I sold it for back then.

I have been in and out of the collecting game over the last 20 or so years but it would have been cool to find this card still in my collection. So that is my card that I regret is no longer in my collection. I am looking forward to the next Blog Bat Around.

This entry was posted in Baseball Cards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blog Bat Around: Cards That I Used To Own

  1. Wow… Given that you got a Grand for the card, I’m not sure how much you should regret it, but I know what you mean, I’d love to have that card… even in “well-loved” condition.

    Like

  2. Jason Culley says:

    My return on investment was great but would like to have the card back!

    Like

Leave a Reply

